skip navigation

Challenger

Challenger's Third Year!

2019 will welcome the third year for PSLL's Challenger Division. Boys and girls with physical and developmental challenges between the ages of 4 and 18 (or still in high school) can enjoy the game of baseball in a supportive, non-competitive environment.  

There is no fee for Challenger players.  Uniforms (tee shirts and caps) will be provided.  

Challenger is not just about the players; the experience is shared by Buddies who make each game memorable.  The success of Challenger is equal parts the player and the Buddy.  

Games are two innings long; each team will hit through the line-up once each inning.  There are no balls, strikes or outs. Depending on ability, batters can hit off a tee or a parent will soft toss.  Buddies stay with players throughout the game so parents can watch their children.  Challenger is about the celebration of another type of extraordinary little leaguers.

Registration for Challenger League is now open! Click here to register, there is no fee.  

The tentative Challenger dates are as below...generally around 3:00 but +/- an hour:

  • Sunday April 7    (Opening Ceremonies)
  • Sunday April 14
  • Sunday April 21    (No Games - Easter Sunday)
  • Sunday April 28
  • Sunday May 5
  • Sunday May 12
  • Sunday May 19
  • Sunday May 26   (No Games - Memorial Day Weekend)
  • Sunday June 2
  • Sunday June 9  (Closing Challenger Ceremonies)

Buddies are encouraged to register in advance but can also register on game day.  All Buddies will receive community service hours for participating on game days but only after they have registered and received brief training.  

  • For additional information or any questions regarding buddies,  please call Rick Hayduk at: (239) 340-1405 or rhayduk1313@aol.com.